IPL 2017 Match 2 : Rising Pune Supergiants vs Mumbai Indian Highlights

Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) confronted with Mumbai Indians (MI) in 2nd match of IPL 2017. The T20 match was played at Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium on 6th April this year. Mumbai Indians batted in the first inning and scored 184 runs. Rising Pune Supergiants successfully chased the target and won the match, which was played on 7th April 2017 at Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium in Pune.

After winning the toss, Rising Pune Supergiants opted to bowl first. Parthiv Patel and Jos Buttler, opener batsmen of Mumbai Indians, started the first inning with scoring minimum runs for their team. Hitting 4 fours, Patel scored 19 runs in 14 balls. The left handed cricketer lost his wicket in 5th over and team’s captain Rohit Sharma came to bat next. The skipper could not perform well in this game and returned back to pavilion after scoring just 3 runs in 7 balls.

Young cricketer Nitish Rana replaced Sharma as new batsman and played crucial role in taking his team’s total score to the next level. Hitting 1 four and 2 sixes, the left handed new player scored 34 runs in 28 balls. Meanwhile, Buttler lost his wicket in 7th over. The right arm English cricketer hit 3 sixes and 3 fours to score 38 runs in 19 balls. Ambati Rayudu came to bat next after Buttler’s dismissal. The right handed cricketer could not score maximum runs for the team and returned to pavilion after scoring 10 runs in 12 balls.

Middle order of batting lineup could not make a big contribution in setting up huge score for the team. Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya rendered pivotal role in taking the team’s overall score beyond 150 runs. The monstrous cricketers hit powerful shots to score maximum runs and the efforts taken by them benefited their team in reaching to a new height of score. Hitting 3 fours and 1 six, Pollard scored 27 runs in 17 balls.

Hardik Pandya donned aggressive stance while hitting the shots powerfully and gladdened his team’s supporters by showcasing an excellent batting performance. The right handed cricket player smashed 4 sixes and 1 four to score 35 runs in 14 balls. After Pollard lost his wicket in 19th over, New Zealand’s bowler Tim Southee came to bat next and scored 7 runs in 3 balls. The overseas batsman hit 1 six while scoring those runs. First inning ended with Mumbai Indians scoring 184 runs in 20 overs with the loss of 8 wickets.

Pune’s bowler Ashok Dinda picked up three wickets in this match. Dinda’s teammate Ben Stokes took two wickets. Australian spinner Adam Zampa, who played for Pune’s team, picked up one wicket in this match. Kick starting the huge run-chase with a good opening, Ajinkya Rahane and Mayank Agarwal played risky shots in initial phase of the 2nd inning. Though Agarwal could not perform well in the early stage of the inning, next batsman Steven Smith played crucial role in chasing the target of 185 runs.

Scoring 6 runs in 5 balls, Agarwal lost his wicket in 3rd over of the match. Australian cricketer Steven Smith, who is captain of Pune’s IPL team, replaced Agarwal as the next batsman. The right handed foreigner cricketer accompanied Rahane in the run-chase. Hitting 6 fours and 3 sixes, Rahane scored 60 runs in 36 balls. After he lost his wicket in 11th over of the 2nd inning, Ben Stokes arrived in the field as the cricket player to bat next.

Steven Smith continued to score the runs with a good run-rate. Stokes assisted his team’s skipper in mitigating the gap between runs required for the victory and balls remained to score those runs. Hitting 3 fours, Stokes scored 21 runs in 14 balls and lost his wicket in 16th over. Former Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni stepped into the field to accompany Smith at other end of strike. Hitting 7 fours and 3 sixes, Smith scored 84 runs in 54 balls. MS Dhoni scored 12 runs in 12 balls.

With the vital contribution made by the cricketers in top order of the batting lineup, Rising Pune Supergiants registered victory in its first match of IPL season 10. Loosing three wickets, the team managed to score 187 runs in 19.5 overs and defeated opponents in the 20 overs match. Mumbai Indians’ bowlers Tim Southee,¬†Mitchell McClenaghan¬†and Hardik Pandya picked up one wicket each. Smith received ‘Player of the Match’ award for his admirable batting performance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

IPL 2018 Schedule IPL 2018 Time Table IPL Match List 2018 IPL Time Table 2018 IPL 2018 Match List IPL 2018 Points Table IPL 2018 Point Table Bigg Boss News Bigg Boss Latest News Bigg Boss 12 Contestants Bollywood Collection Bollywood Box Office Bollywood Box Office Collection Pro Kabaddi Schedule Pro Kabaddi 2018 Schedule Box Office Collection IPL Schedule 2018 Bollywood News Exam Result Happy Ramadan 2018 When Is Ramadan 2018 Top Upcoming Movies Big Bash Fixtures BBL Fixtures BPL 2018 Upcoming Cricket Matches EPL Standings NFL Standings La Liga League Standings PSL Fixtures PSL Schedule How To Motivate Yourself ISL Fixtures ISL Points Table ISL Standings ISL Schedule IPL Standings 2018 IPL 2018 Time Table List Upcoming Movies Upcoming Bollywood Movies 2018 Ramadan 2018 Calendar Frontier Theme